The Plymouth Rock Teachers Lounge would like to congratulate the 21 teachers who, earlier this month, were named the top educator in their respective counties by the Department of Education.

As reported in mid-September by, these teachers were chosen by of groups of school administrators, parents, and their fellow teachers. These 21 teachers will now be in the running to win New Jersey Teacher of the year.

The winner will be announced in October, and the educator selected will get the chance to attend a special ceremony at the White House, and meet President Donald Trump.

According to the article, the winner will be chosen based on the best written application, video submission, and interview from the 21 finalists.

Here’s the official list…

Atlantic County: Kelly Montgomery, a sixth-grade math teacher at Emma C. Attales Middle School in Absecon School District.

Bergen County: Henry Baldwin (English/Social Studies,  Bergenfield High School) in Bergenfield School District.

Burlington County: Sherrie Wilkins (Fifth Grade, Alexander Denbo Elementary School) Pemberton Township School District.

Camden County: Mimma-Marie Cammarata (Italian, Sterling High School) Sterling School District.

Cape May County: Amy Andersen (Sign Language, Ocean City High School) Ocean City School District.

Cumberland County: Paul Lonergan (Special Education, Vineland High School) Vineland School District.

Essex County: Mary Walmsley (Science, Livingston High School) Livingston School District.

Gloucester County: Domenick Renzi (Math, Wedgewood Elementary School) Washington Township School District.

Hudson County: Kathleen Terhune (Fourth Grade,Salvatore R. Calabro Elementary School) Hoboken School District.

Hunterdon County: Vincent Angeline (Music, North Hunterdon High School) North Hunterdon Voorhees Regional High School District.

Mercer County: Sharin Rello (Music, Lawrence Intermediate School) Lawrence Township School District.

Middlesex County: Kristy DeFazio (Fourth Grade, James J. Flynn Elementary School) Perth Amboy School District.

Monmouth County: Kristina Phelan (Reading, Mahala F. Atchison Elementary School) Tinton Falls School District.

Morris County: Diane Phares (Art, Mount Olive High School) Mount Olive Township School District.

Ocean County: Christine Newbury (Science/Special Education Teacher, Manchester Township High School) Manchester Township School District.

Passaic County: Nicole Petrosillo (Language Arts, West Milford High School) West Milford Township High School District.

Salem County: Alison Schulze (Kindergarten, William Roper Early Learning Childhood Center)  Pilesgrove Regional School District.

Somerset County: Michael Skomba (Social Studies, Somerville High School) the Somerville School District.

Sussex County: Teresa Muzzo (Special Education, Halsted Middle School) the Newton School District.

Union County: Victoria Sasso (Language Arts, Carl. H. Kumpf Middle School) the Clark School District.

Warren County: Diane Kasharian (Special Education, Great Meadows Middle School) the Warren County Special Services School District.

To read more, click here.

Comments are closed.